World Cup Anticipation

One of the biggest sport events that the whole world watches and anxiously waits for:  Yes!  The World Cup.

It happens every four years in a different country.   This year it happens to be in Brazil.  The games will all be in Brazil but in different cities like Rio De Janeiro, Sao Paulo, Salvador, Brasilia.  The first Game starts June 12th and everything is finished and the Champion is declared by July 13.

The fantastic sport that is played at the World Cup is Soccer or Football.  The normal rules apply: 45 minutes halves, 11 players on the field while the ball is in play.  There are three referees.  1 center referee controls everything on the field, and two linesman decide which team gets the ball during throw ins.  The center referee has most of the power but still asks the linesman when he is unsure about a call.

To get into the World cup each the top three teams of each division goes automatically to the world Cup and all of the 4th placers will go to a knock out round to see which other few teams will also go to the world cup.  The different divisions are CAF (Confederation of African football), CONCACAFF is (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football), CONMEBOLL (South American Football Confederation), OFC (Oceania Football Confederation), AFC (Asian Football Confederation), and UEFA (Union of European Football Associations).

All of the teams who made it get organized into groups and there are 8 groups in total and four teams in each group. They are grouped as follows:

Group A : Brazil, Croatia, Mexico, Cameroon

Group B : Spain, Chile, Netherlands, and Australia.

Group C : Colombia, Greece, Cote D’Ivoire, Japan.

Group D : Uruguay, Costa Rica, England, Italy.

Group E : Switzerland, Ecuador, France and Honduras.

Group F : Argentina Nigeria, Argentina, Iran, and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Group G : Portugal, United States, Ghana, and Germany.

Group H : Belgium, Algeria, Russia, Korea Republic.

Once the World cup starts, every day two teams will play from each group until everyone plays each other once.  The predictions of the groups is all based on their ranking on F.I.F.A.  The winner for Group A is Brazil, Group B is Spain, Group C  is Colombia, Group D  is Italy, Group E is Switzerland, Group F is Argentina, Group G is Germany, and group H is Belgium.

Finally the two teams favored to make it to the finals are Brazil and Spain.  They are two extraordinary teams and only the best of either will win.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.